Big names join strong Wuhan Open qualifying line-up

Time:2017-09-07Release:WUHAN OPEN

The race to qualify for this year’s Dongfeng Motor Wuhan Open will feature a strong line-up of illustrious names, including Olympic Gold Medallist Monica Puig, former Roland Garros champion Francesca Schiavone and fan favourites such as Andrea Petkovic, Heather Watson and Donna Vekic.


The US$2,666,000 WTA Premier 5 tournament, held at the Optics Valley International Tennis Centre from 22-30 September 2017, traditionally attracts one of the strongest line-ups of the season in its main draw, forcing well known players into qualifying.

Rising young Australian star Ashleigh Barty, ranked 43, is on course to be top seed in Wuhan Open qualifying but she could move into the main draw if a player withdraws before the tournament.


Players compete over two rounds in a 32-player qualifying draw to join the star-studded main draw, which is set to feature some of the biggest names in global sport. This year’s Wimbledon winner and  new World No.1 Garbiñe Muguruza, two-time Grand Slam champion Angelique Kerber, 2017 Roland Garros champion Jelena Ostapenko, World No.1 Karolina Pliskova, World No.2 Simona Halep, two-time Wimbledon champion and two-time Wuhan Open champion Petra Kvitova and two-time Grand Slam semi-finalist Johanna Konta are all scheduled to compete in Wuhan.

2017 Wuhan Open players entered into the MAIN DRAW include:
Karolina Pliskova
Simona Halep
Angelique Kerber
Caroline Wozniacki
Garbiñe Muguruza
Johanna Konta
Svetlana Kuznetsova
Agnieszka Radwanska
Dominika Cibulkova
Jelena Ostapenko
Kristina Mladenovic
Petra Kvitova
Anastasija Sevastova
Madison Keys
Elena Vesnina
Caroline Garcia
Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova

Under WTA Tour rules, the tournament also has up to five Main Draw wildcards available, including two for players from the year-end Top 20 list and 4 Qualifying wildcards. These have yet to be decided.


Attached below is Current qualifying entry list:

The Dongfeng Motor Wuhan Open takes place between 22-30 September 2017.For more information and to buy tickets visit: and